Monday, February 7, 2011

In Memoriam: Brian Jacques

Brian Jacques, beloved British author of the Redwall series of books, passed away on Feb. 5 at the age of 71. You can read a brief bio about Mr. Jacques at The Redwall books have sold more than 20 million copies worldwide, and have been published in 28 languages. The Rogue Crew, another Redwall novel, is scheduled for publication in May of this year.

Read all about the wonderful Redwall books at the official Redwall Website.

You can check out the Redwall books from the library! They are fantastic adventure tales of good versus evil, and feature walking, talking animals such as otters, squirrels and mice. They are geared toward ages 9 and up, and many grown-ups are big fans! For fans who may not already know, the books were also made into an animated TV series spanning 3 seasons (Redwall, Mattimeo, and Martin the Warrior). You can check out Seasons 1 &2 on DVD from the library.

The books (in order written) are:

Redwall (1986)

Mossflower (1988)
Mattimeo (1989)
Mariel of Redwall (1991)
Salamandastron (1992)
Martin the Warrior (1993)
The Bellmaker (1994)
Outcast of Redwall (1995)
The Pearls of Lutra (1996)
The Long Patrol (1997)
Marlfox (1998)
The Legend of Luke (1999)
Lord Brocktree (2000)
The Taggerung (2001)
Triss (2002)
Loamhedge (2003)
Rakkety Tam (2004)
High Rhulain (2005)
Eulalia! (2007)
Doomwyte (2008)
The Sable Quean (2010)

There is also a Redwall cookbook! It's called The Redwall Cookbook, and can also be checked out from the library.


Send a comment to Dreyfus!