Monday, January 10, 2011

American Library Association Award Winners 2011

The ALA announced the award winners for the year 2011 today. Check them out or reserve them from the library! Here's a list of the winners in some of the major categories. For the complete list, visit ALA.

John Newbery Medal for the most outstanding contribution to children’s literature:
Winner: Moon Over Manifest by Clare Vanderpool.

Randolph Caldecott Medal for the most distinguished American picture book for children:
Winner: A Sick Day for Amos McGee, illustrated by Erin E. Stead; written by Philip C. Stead

Theodor Seuss Geisel Award for the most distinguished beginning reader book:
Winner: Bink and Gollie, written by Kate DiCamillo and Alison McGhee and illustrated by Tony Fucile

Schneider Family Book Award for books that embody an artistic expression of the disability experience:
Winner (for children ages 0 to 10): The Pirate of Kindergarten, written by George Ella Lyon; illustrated by Lynne Avril

Pura Belpré (Author) Award honoring a Latino writer whose children’s books best portray, affirm and celebrate the Latino cultural experience:
Winner: The Dreamer, written by Pam Muñoz Ryan; illustrated by Peter Sis.

Robert F. Sibert Medal for most distinguished informational book for children:
Winner: Kakapo Rescue: Saving the World’s Strangest Parrot, written by Sy Montgomery; photographs by Nic Bishop


Send a comment to Dreyfus!